Photo by Jim Block,

In 2018, AOS established the Peter R. Stettenheim Award, a new service award meant to carry on the tradition of the Cooper Ornithological Society’s Cooper Honorary Member Award, one of the oldest awards in ornithology. The award recognizes an individual well established in their career who has performed outstanding and extensive service to AOS. This award celebrates members who may have served in elected or appointed positions, but also emphasizes volunteer contributions, mentoring, and committee participation. The award consists of a framed certificate and honorarium.

The award honors Peter Stettenheim, an enthusiastic leader of both the American Ornithologists’ Union and the Cooper Ornithological Society who served in society governance and contributed in many ways to advance ornithology. Peter was a Life Member, Elective Member, and Fellow of the AOU, serving as a Council Member as well as Vice President (2001-2002). He was Editor of The Condor and Life Histories of the Birds of North America (a.k.a. Birds of North America), an Honorary Life Member of the Cooper Society, and a Patron and Investing Trustee of the Wilson Ornithological Society. Peter was a well-respected expert on avian anatomy and functional morphology but had a broad appreciation and interest in ornithology. He passed away in 2013 and was known by many of us as a kind and gentle giant.

Previous Winners

2019 Phil Stouffer & Mark Hauber
2018 Anna Chalfoun

Winners of the Cooper Honorary Member Award

2016   Carla Cicero
2016   Jeffrey F. Kelly
2015   Brett K. Sandercock
2015   Susan K. Skagen
2014   Abby N. Powell
2013   Katie M. Dugger
2013   Mercedes S. Foster
2013   Michael A. Patten
2012  No recipient
2011  No recipient
2010  Carl Marti
2010  Thomas Martin
2009  No recipient
2008  Fritz Knopf
2008  Blair Wolf
2007  Kimberly A. Sullivan
2006  Bonnie S. Bowen
2006  David S. Dobkin
2006  Eileen M. Kirsch
2005  Barbara E. Kus
2005  Martin G. Raphael
2004  No recipient
2003 Theresa Bucher
2003  John Rotenberry
2002  Walt Koenig
2001  Shelia Mahoney
2001  K. Michael Scott
2000  Stephen Russell
1999  No recipient
1998  Terrell D. Rich
1997  No recipient
1996  Glenn E. Walsberg
1995  Luis F. Baptista
1995  Richard F. Johnston
1995  Edwin O. Willis
1994  Elsie C. Collias
1994  Charles T. Collins
1993  Sandra L. Gaunt
1993  Dennis M. Power
1993  Charles Van Riper III
1992  Richard C. Banks
1992  John W. Hardy
1991  Russell R. Balda
1991  Lloyd R. Kiff
1991  Jared Verner
1990  Joseph R. Jehl, Jr.
1990  Martin L. Morton
1990  C. J. Ralph

1989  Elizabeth A. Schreiber
1989  Ralph W. Schreiber
1988  George A. Bartholomew
1988  Lois Chambers Stone
1987  John T. Emlen
1987  Ned K. Johnson
1987  James R. Nothern
1986  Howeard L. Cogswell
1985  Peter Stettenheim
1984  Robert W. Storer
1983  William R. Dawson
1982  Keith L. Dixon
1981  Nicholas E. Collias
1979  James G. Miller
1979  Oliver P. Pearson
1978  Harold F. Mayfield
1976  Ralph J. Raitt
1975  James R. King
1974  Wilson C. Hanna
1974  Eben McMillan
1974  Ian McMillan
1974  Virginia D. Miller
1973  Dean Amadon
1973  Jane R. Durham
1972  L. Richard Mewaldt
1972  Kenneth E. Stager
1971  Enid K. Austin
1970  Barbara Blanchard DeWolfe
1970  Donald S. Farner
1970  Marquis Y. Yamashina
1969  Herbert Friedmann
1969  Robert T. Orr
1969  Erwin Stresemann
1968  William H. Behle
1968  Thomas R. Howell
1967  John Davis
1965  Theed Pearse
1963  Hildegarde Howard
1963  Frank A. Pitelka
1963  John G. Tyler
1962   Jack C. Von Bloeker, Jr.
1960  Jean Delacour
1960  Ed. N. Harrison
1960  W. J. Sheffler
1960  Alexander F. Skutch
1958  Junea W. Kelly
1957  C. V. Duff
1956  Jean M. Linsdale

1956  Alden H. Miller
1956  Alexander Wetmore
1955  A. Brazier Howell
1953  Chester C. Lamb
1952  Walter K. Fisher
1952  Clark P. Streator
1950  Harry Harris
1950  Robert T. Moore
1949  Annie M. Alexander
1949  Henry W. Carriger
1949  Stanley G. Jewett
1949  J. R. Pemberton
1949  John Robertson
1949  Fred A. Schneider
1948  Rollo H. Beck
1948  Louis B. Bishop
1947  Joseph F. Dixon
1947  Hilda Wood Grinnell
1947  Harry R. Painton
1943  Howard Robertson
1942  Harold Michener
1942  Josephine R. Michener
1942  George Willett
1940  William A. Bryan
1936  Allan Brooks
1936  W. Lee Chambers
1936  Loye H. Miller
1933  Arthur C. Bent
1932  Alfred W. Anthony
1932  Albert M. Ingersoll
1931  Charles W. Richmond
1929  J. Eugene Law
1929  Theodore S. Palmer
1926  Carton W. Evermann
1924  Albert K. Fisher
1924  Joseph Mailliard
1922  G. Frean Morcom
1920  Florence M. Bailey
1917  Edward W. Nelson
1912  Frank Stephens
1910  Joel A. Allen
1910  Foster Ellenborough Lascelles
1909  Henry W. Henshaw
1909  Clinton H. Merriam
1905  Robert Ridgway
1898  Walter E. Bryant
1886  Lyman Belding
1886  James G. Cooper